Once again it’s been awhile, but I am now happy!!

I know I promised that I would post more often, but I wasn’t happy with the work I have accomplished lately on the guitar. Most notibly the work on the bindings and purfling, especially around the waist areas. So what did I do about it? Yes, I went extreme and routed out the old bindings and purflings, bought some new ones, and started over. I went with a binding that was already laminated with some BWB so I could bend it a little easier. I found that the BWB material wouldn’t bend as well and had a tendency to twist. I also used the bending iron to bend only the larger curves and then used a hair dryer to soften the bindings as I was glueing them on. This worked very well and sped up the process considerably. So here are some pictures.

 

 

 

Here you will see that I went ahead and did the hearing bone purling seperatly from the bindings. I realized that when I tried to do everything at once it was too difficult to keep it all lined up properly. So I glued in the purling and let it set overnight. Image

 

Image

Image

 

And now some picture of the finished binding job.

ImageImageImage

 

 

 

The bindings are so much cleaner along all of the curves.

ImageImageImageImage

Oh and I also worked on cleaning up the ESQ logo on the headstock.Image

 

I will complete the finish sanding of the whole body and start prepping it for the finish. I have been ready up on if I need to pore fill the woods before finishing, but everywhere I look it states that redwood and Oregon myrtle do not need to be filled. More to come….

Leave a comment